NORTHWEST INDIANA — The Northwest Indiana Workforce Board (NWIWB) represents the counties of Jasper, Lake, La Porte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski and Starke.

Comprised of business, education, labor, economic development, and community leaders, they facilitate connections to key resources in the workforce and education arena, while convening and working to determine current and future skill needs along with their economic development, education and employer partners. In addition, they are responsible for carrying out the strategic vision of workforce development and governance of the region’s WorkOne system.

The 2018-19 officers and board members are:

Chair-Debra Baughman, Director of Training-Horizon Bank

Vice Chair-Barbara Sacha, Labor Relations Manager-ArcelorMittal

Secretary-Frank Cardello, Chief Financial Officer-Packaging Logic

Treasurer-Gary Olund, President & CEO-Northwest Indiana Community Action


Mike Barnes-Assoc. COO Employer Engagement, IN Dept of Workforce Development

Jim Clarida-President & Business Representative, IBEW Local 531

Adam Collins-Vice President of Operations, Kruz Inc.

Kim DeQuis-Regional Manager, Family & Social Services Administration

George Douglas-Senior Vice President of Operations, Indiana Beverage

Matt Franklin-Vice President-TV Operations, Lakeshore Public Media

Ric Frataccia-Superintendent, Valparaiso Community Schools

Rich Gamblin-Apprenticeship/Training Coordinator, Ironworker Local 395

R. Luis Gonzalez-Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College

Keith Kirkpatrick-Owner, KPM Group

Karen Kopka-Senior Human Resources Manager, American Licorice Company

Kristine Lukowski-Employee Relations Sr. Specialist, Cargill

Joseph Medellin-Manager Human Resources, ArcelorMittal

Gary Miller-Chief Executive Officer, Prompt Ambulance

Arlene Pearson-Chief Human Resources Officer, Edgewater Systems

Ben Scheiner-Vice President Manufacturing,Galfab

Chris Smith-Vice President-Human Resources, NiSource

Africa Tarver-Executive Director of Planning & Development, City of Hammond

Lori Tubbs-President, Commercial Advantage

Brenda Walters-Human Resources Director, Wastequip

Staff to Board: Linda Woloshansky, President & CEO, Center of Workforce Innovations

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.